Skip to main content

Britain By Car - A Motoring History


England’s largest county, traditionally divided into three parts, or ridings – East, North and West.  These became four in the 1970s, with the creation of the administrative district of South Yorkshire.

Yorkshire remains a diverse county with spectacular countryside, two national parks, and an industrial heritage based on textiles, coal, and engineering.

With thanks to the following for the images of Yorkshire:
Lifeboat Station, Whitby © Pauline E
The former Royal Baths, Harrogate © CLT
Yorkshire Dales © Keith Hardy
Smith Bradford City Centre, 1957 © Dr Ben Brooksbank