Skip to main content

Britain By Car - A Motoring History

Channel Islands

Situated just off the Normandy coast, the Channel Islands are made up of five islands: Jersey, Guernsey, Alderney, Sark and Herm.

The Islands are not part of either the UK or the European Union.  Originally owned by the Duchy of Normandy, they passed to the English Crown when William the Conqueror became King of England in 1066.  Shortly after this, they were divided into two jurisdictions, or bailiwicks, Guernsey and Jersey, with the smaller islands divided between the two.

The Channel Islands pass their own legislation, subject to the agreement of the Crown, with their own parliaments and assemblies.

With thanks to the following for the images of the Channel Islands:
Forest Stores © Colin Smith
St Peter Port, Guernsey © Colin Smith
Victoria Pier, St Peter Port, Guernsey © Colin Smith
La Corbière lighthouse © Bob Embleton