Skip to main content

Britain By Car - A Motoring History


Cumbria was created in 1974 from the traditional counties of Cumberland, Westmoreland, and the northern part of Lancashire.

The Lake District makes up the central part of Cumbria; it is an area of outstanding natural beauty and includes Scafell Pike, the highest mountain in England.

The northern and eastern parts of Cumbria are moorland areas, adjoining Yorkshire, Durham, Northumberland, and the southern part of Scotland.

The western coastal towns are less spectacular, but have a strong industrial and maritime history.

With thanks to the following for the images of Cumbria:
River Cocker © Alexander P Kapp
Rydal Water © Keith Hardy
Carlisle City Centre, 1957 © Dr Ben Brooksbank
BAE, Barrow © San Sharma

Cumbria locations