Skip to main content

Britain By Car - A Motoring History


Named after the medieval Welsh Kingdom of Gwent, the modern ceremonial county of Gwent is situated in the south-east corner of Wales, covering part of Breconshire and all of Monmouthshire.  Its principal towns are Newport, Monmouth and Abergavenny.

With thanks to the following for the images of the county of Gwent:
South-east slope of Sugar Loaf, near Abergavenny © Stuart Wilding
Newport Transporter Bridge © Hywel Williams
The Wye Bridge, Monmouth © Philip Halling
Houses in Glan Ebbw Terrace, Ebbw Vale © Jaggery

Gwent locations